Search county info online!

Find us on Facebook

Grant County now has a Facebook page! Like and Follow for important information and updates!

County Administration

County Departments

Visit Grant County!

Contact Information

Food Policy Council members

The Council comprises 13 members appointed by the Grant County Board of Commissioners.Members represent diverse aspects of the local food system as well as different geographic areas of Grant County.

Five members are government representatives and eight are non-government representatives. Members serve either two- or three-year terms, as specified by the County Commission upon appointment.

Two Co-Chairs lead the Council, rotating on an annual basis at the beginning of each calendar year.

For more information about Council membership, please contact Andrea Sauer at (575) 388-1198 x 14 or

J.J. Dabb, Gila Cooperative and Farmersí Market (2-year term)

Alicia Edwards, Director of The Volunteer Center of Grant County (3-year term)

Melvyn Gelb, Retired Diabetes Public Health Nurse, New Mexico State Dept. of Health (3-year term)

Alma Grijalva, Food Service Director, Cobre Consolidated School District (3-year term)

Anthony Gutierrez, County Planner, Grant County (2-year term)*

Sylvia Mendez-Lopez, Nutritionist and part-time faculty at Western New Mexico University (2-year term)

Genevieve Morgan, Farm Manager, San Vicente Farms LLC (2-year term)

Richard Olson, Coordinator, Black Range Resource Conservation Service (3-year term)*

Jon Saari, County Manager, Grant County (2-year term)*

Carolyn Smith, Community Outreach Manager, Silver City Food Cooperative (2-year term)

Pete Walden, Director of The Grant County Extension Service-NMSU (3-year term)*

Brandi Warhank, Women, Infant and Children (WIC) Nutritionist, New Mexico State Dept. of Health (3-year term)

© 2008 by Grant County and Putting the Web to Work dot com. All rights reserved. Calendar data and other portions of this site are available with advance permission for streaming to websites owned by Grant County businesses and communities. Contact the webmaster for details.